h1

Kitty Raiding: Major Glyphs

January 18, 2009

Glyphs don’t really get the attention they deserve. We all talk about specs, and gear, and rotations, but not a whole lot about glyphs. This is probably for a few reasons, but I think it is mainly because we just aren’t used to talking about them yet. They only came into existence a few short months ago with the release of Wrath of the Lich King. You can’t even look up someone’s glyphs on the armory, as far as I can tell.

While I am sure that Blizz has many plans for the future of glyphs, there are only a few ones worth getting if you are pure feral dps. I also included the bear major glyphs. If you do a fair amount of tanking, which several of us kitties do, it may be helpful for you to pick one of these up. In this post I am just going to cover Major Glyphs, since they are more important to actual raid performance, whereas the Minor Glyphs are more for “fun”.

Cat Major Glyphs

  • Glyph of Rip – Increases the duration of your rip ability by 4 seconds.

“Rip” is a finishing move that is essential in raiding rotations, because it does a high amount of damage over time. It also does a higher amount of damage than “Ferocious Bite” does with the same amount of combo points used. The standard duration of “Rip” is 12 seconds. This glyph will raise the duration to 16 seconds. The 2 set bonus on Dreamwalker Battlegear (T7 or 7.5) will cause Rip to last an additional 3 seconds as well. These two do stack! With both, you will have a whopping 19 second Rip.

  • Glyph of Mangle – Increases the duration of Mangle by 6 seconds.

“Mangle” is every cat’s best friend. Unlike “Shred” you can use this move whether you are behind or in front of your foe, and it does 240% of normal damage plus 761 and causes the target to take 30% additional damage from bleed effects, like Shred, over time. Mangle usually lasts for 12 seconds, but with this glyph will last for a full 18 seconds. Anyone else in your raiding party that does bleed effects will also be happy that your Mangle lasts longer, as it will affect them, too.

  • Glyph of Shred – Increases the damage dealt by Shred to stunned and incapacitated targets by 20%.

This glyph is not very useful in raids, but is what I consider a must have for soloing and for anyone still questing and leveling. When I am not raiding, I usually “Pounce” -> “Mangle” -> “Shred”x2 -> “Ferocious Bite”. Often I can get a non-elite downed before they are even un-stunned. This glyph certainly adds up the damage.

  • Glyph of Rake – Your rake ability prevents targets from fleeing.

I don’t really see a need for this glyph in raids, but could be a big help while leveling. “Infected Wounds” alone makes this pretty much useless at a higher level, since at Rank 3 it makes “Shred”, “Maul”, and “Mangle” reduce the movement speed of the target by 25% and attack speed by 10%, stacking up to two times and lasting 12 seconds. This glyph also does not work in PvP, so don’t think about it for that, either.

Bear Major Glyphs

  • Glyph of Maul – Your Maul ability now hits 1 additional target.

This is a great tanking Glyph, and will help you hold aggro much better on a group of mobs, as Maul causes a high amount of threat.

  • Glyph of Frenzied Regeneration – While Frenzied Regeneration is active, healing effects on you are 20% more powerful.

“Frenzied Regeneration” is one of the last stands that a druid tank has before they bite the dust, along with “Survival Instincts”. When I tanked, I tended to only use Frenzied Regen in groups for instances or raids, so if I was going to use this move it would probably be while I was about to die and already getting a ton of heals to keep me up. So,  this glyph would definitely mean more healing at a critical time and hopefully an avoided death.

  • Glyph of Growl – Increases the chance for your Growl ability to work successfully by 8%.

Another great tanking glyph. The numbers in this glyph can be a little confusing, but there is a reason that it is set at 8%. “Growl” is technically a spell, which means that its chance to be avoided is 17%. This glyph reduces that to 9%, which is the same as the “hit cap” for melee DPS. If you are at that “hit cap” of 9% and you have this Glyph, then it is impossible for your “Growl” to miss. And for anyone that has ever tanked and had a taunt be missed, you know how horrible that can end up.

I am currently using Major Glyphs of Rip, Mangle, and Shred, as I find these to be the most useful to me since I spend the majority of my time raiding as DPS and very little time tanking. If I were to spend more time tanking, I think I would drop the Glyph of Shred and pick up Glyph of Maul.

I hope you found this little guide helpful when picking out your Glyphs! In my next post I will cover all the Minor Glyphs that are out there for druids.

One comment

  1. […] 18, 2009 In my last post I talked about all the Major Glyphs available to feral druids. In this post, I will talk about all […]



Leave a Reply

