h1

Patch 3.0.9

February 9, 2009

We can expect to see patch 3.0.9 this week; a minor patch to tweak a few things here and fix a few bugs there. A few things interest me in the notes for this patch.

DRUID

  • Ferocious Bite: This ability now only uses up to 30 energy in addition to its base cost.

THE OBSIDIAN SANCTUM

  • Changed the color of the fissure in the Obsidian Sanctum to be more visually distinct.

As for the FB change, I don’t see this as having a huge effect in PvE/Raids since I don’t use FB in my rotations, unless I have extra energy to burn before I need to re-up Savage Roar or Rip, and when I do use it I don’t wait to fill up to 100 energy before using it. However, I can see this having a big affect in PvP as it will reduce the amount of burst damage that we can do. Blizzard has mentioned in the past that they don’t like how bursty FB can be in PvP, so this is one way they are going to fix that. I don’t see this so much as a nerf, but more of a way to try to balance PvP a little more. I really can’t say I PvP much though, so if I should be QQing, let me know.

I welcome the change to OS fissures with open arms (paws?) as I can see this being very helpful while attempting OS with any drakes up. My guild recently downed our first OS+1, and one of the things I was having a hard time was seeing the fissures, since they tend to blend in with everything going on around us. Changing it to a more obvious color will mean I will have to spend less precious nano-seconds frantically searching for them. If you haven’t tried OS+drakes, it is probably the most hectic, insane thing out there.

The other thing I find exciting about this patch is the number: 3.0.9. Sure they could throw us a 3.0.9A or a 3.0.95, but numerically speaking the next patch we should get should be 3.1. Let’s just hope they don’t mess up something huge like Wintergrasp and crash our servers on raid night. 🙂

Leave a Reply

