h1

PTR Patch 3.1 – Feral Glyph Changes

March 2, 2009

Well, as they say it does, March has certainly come “in like a Lion“. My hopes for an early Spring were some what squashed today as Old Man Winter decided to dump another pile of his crappy white crap all over the North East yet again, causing much mayhem in its wake. While we in Upstate NY weren’t hit quite as hard as a lot of other parts of the country, the snow was enough to make the roads horrible locally, and so I stayed home from work to spend way too much time staring at the TV and grinding mostly-pointless WoW Reputations, like Wintersaber Trainers and Timbermaw hold.

I did, however, decide to make something productive out of my day, and so here I am with newly formed thoughts on these ever changing PTR Patch 3.1 notes. As it seems that some of the overall class changes and abilities haven’t made their way to the PTR quite yet, I am sure there more changes in store for us that just haven’t been announced yet. And so with that thought, I have decided to first go over all the Glyph changes and put in my two cents on the changes.

Glyph Changes

  • Glyph of Shred

New: Each time you Shred, the duration of your Rip on the target is extended by 2 seconds, to a maximum of 6 seconds.
Old: Increases the damage dealt by Shred to stunned and incapacitated targets by 20%.

This is a very welcome change. This Glyph was really only useful for soloing previously. Anything that increases damage or duration of Rip will make a big change for overall damage done while raiding. And I haven’t tested this out yet, but I am sure that this will stack both with the Tier 7/7.5 set bonus and the Glyph of Rip bonuses to Rip, as those two stack with each other.

New Glyphs

  • Glyph of Berserk

Increases the duration of Berserk by 5 seconds.

This will up the durations to a total of 20 seconds. Nice glyph, but I think that there are other glyphs I would rather have for a Kitty DPS build. I’m not sure if it is one I would include in a Tanking build. I will have to play around with it to see.

  • Glyph of Savage Roar

Your Savage Roar ability grants an additional 6% bonus damage done.

With the overall change to Savage Roar, changing its effect to an extra 30% Physical Damage from and increases 40% Attack Power, I am not sure exactly how much this will buff Savage Roar compared to how it is now, but this is definitely a glyph I want to have in my Kitty DPS build.

  • Glyph of Barkskin

Reduces the chance you’ll be critically hit by melee attacks by 1 to 0% while Barkskin is active.

Barkskin isn’t something I think about much as far as Cat form, but I found it very useful last night while I temporarily respeced Bear to OT for Naxx 10. Using Barkskin in Bear form is still very new to me, as when used in BC it would shapeshift you out of form. Now it can be used while tanking to lessen damage taken while tanking by 20% for 12 seconds, every 60 seconds. If you are defense capped already, this will make no difference to you, but if you are still working on your tanking gear and are a few points under, this Glyph will help you stay alive just a little bit longer. Eek! Sorry to all Bears! I am so used to Bear Tanking in BC still that I forgot that “defense cap” doesn’t apply to Bears anymore. So this Glyph is really not for us ferals. ><

I will need to look for these new glyphs on the Auction House on the PTR to see if these are Major or Minor glyphs. I am thinking they are all Major, with a chance that the Barkskin may be a Minor. I will update once I figure it out!

– – – – –

Please see my Patch 3.1 Post here to see what all the changes were once the patch went live.

6 comments

  1. Bear tanks spec crit immune, we do not have to be “defense capped.” Just thought I’d clear that up


  2. Apparently you are a sick kitty. There is no more defense cap for bears. The only thing you need is Survival of the Fittest 3/3 to be uncrittable.

    Given that I haven’t the faintest idea what benefit the Barkskin glyph will provide.


  3. Barkskin seems silly as it’s worded. Maybe they worded it wrong or something.

    As for cats, it’s going to be REALLY hard to decide between:

    Glyph of Rip, Savage Roar, Shred, Mangle

    Savage Roar and Shred would seem to be the best. Rip is probably better than Mangle but having to redo Mangle so often will really irritate me.


  4. Thanks for pointing this out. ><

    I really need to get caught up with all the Bear changes since BC, huh? Esp since it is going to be my Dual Spec.

    Corrected in the post. Thanks again for your comments. 🙂


  5. I thought I read teh Barkskin glyph as “Reducing the chance to be crit by 20% (or was it 25) while active” Still same results for ferals : Made of Fail.


  6. Since I posted this, several of the Glyphs have had minor changes.

    Barkskin is now:

    “Glyph of Barkskin – Reduces the chance you’ll be critically hit by melee attacks by 25% while Barkskin is active.”



Leave a Reply

