h1

Kitty Swipe: An Updated Review

April 14, 2009

Now that it has been many months since “Swipe (Cat)” has been added, I would like to take some time to talk about it again.

Yes, I still think that Swipe is a little OP – in the numbers. However, Swipe is still in no way sustained DPS and there is no way to make it sustained DPS, therefor it is really not all that over powered at all. I like to think of it as a fun thing to play around with, not something that is going to make me the best DPS overall for the raid.

When I say “fun”, this is what I mean:

swipedps

No, I did not photoshop my Recount meter. Yes, that is 21,380 damage per second. I wish I could say that this is from a Level 80 instance, but this is from Ahn’Qiraj: the “gauntlet” you have to run down that has dozens of little bugs in it. We pulled the whole hallway and AoE-ed them down at the end. I just had to bash Swipe a few times to get them all down, but there were so many of them that it added up to a whole lot of damage. (For reference, the druid below me on the chart is a Boomkin, also AoEing.)

I don’t think Blizzard ever intended for any class to do 21K damage per second; hence this small, unnoticed “Bug Fix” from the patch 3.1 notes: “Swipe: Now properly affected by area-of-effect damage caps.” I don’t know the specifics on what this will cap the Swipe DPS at, but I am pretty sure that we won’t be seeing any 21K DPS for a while.

Even though this “Bug Fix” seems like a nerf, I am hopeful that this small change will help fix my biggest problem with Swipe: Dying. Because “Swipe (Cat)” does so much damage, it also pulls a ton aggro, which results in me dying. A lot.

I finally got down to doing my own testing with the Idol of Perspicacious Attacks to see if it would effect Swipe (Cat) at all. While I’m not the best at running scientific experiments, my results seem to show that in Cat form the Idol doesn’t have much affect, if any at all. In Bear form it does noticeably, albeit slightly, increase DPS. In my testing though, I did notice that the thing that increases damage most with “Swipe (Cat)” is when Omen of Clarity procs. So if you haven’t included Omen of Clarity in your Feral Build and you want to maximize your Swipe damage, you might want to include it when you get your free respec tomorrow when Patch 3.1 hits.

6 comments

  1. Yeah, I think it is a buff since too:) Doing so much AoE damage causes a lot of dying. You are right in thinking Idol of Perspicacious Attacks does not work in Cat form. Blizzard has not added it to cat form yet. When they made the idol there was no cat form swipe.

    Bank of Amorob – WoW Gold
    Making Blog


  2. […] I have written an updated review of “Swipe (Cat)” which can be found here. […]


  3. I know someone asked this in another comment, but I was wondering about your rotation as well. I know your DPS isn’t 21K but it’s very high and I’d love to know what you’re doing. šŸ˜‰


  4. I’m working on a post about rotations currently, so keep an eye out for it soon!


  5. […] Kitty The blog of a DPS Feral Druid « Kitty Swipe: An Updated Review Patch 3.1 is here! April 19, […]


  6. Sorry about being late to the discussion, but its the fact that kitty swipe has a large modifier on it to off-set them having to later buff it in the case we scale behind the other classes. Fan of Knives also is similar to Kitty Swipe in that regard.



Leave a Reply

